Mindset

The Beginning of Everything

I’ve been thinking about starting this blog since the beginning of the year. I kept putting it off because I have a ten-page paper to write to complete my yoga teacher training certification and wanted this blog to be my reward. While I’ve started the paper, it’s nowhere near complete, like many other projects in my life.

The impetus to begin today comes from two negative posts I saw on Instagram from people I hold in high regard. Although they were meant to be funny, I can see that the true intent behind them was malicious. Seeing these posts was very disheartening for me. There is so much negativity in this world already, why do we insist on putting more out there? As if the daily news and traffic aren’t enough to drive one insane. We can’t seem to help from adding to the fray with our internal and external commentary.

Something I have been working on for the last few months is being kinder to myself as well as others. I am the type of person who is rarely satisfied at the end of the day, because I always think I could’ve done more, done better, in whatever activities I put my energy towards. I have so many areas of my life that need a major overhaul, in my opinion, that it can be overwhelming to consider them all at once. And all the work it will take to get to where I want to be is daunting. But I know that with consistent and determined effort I will reach my goals.

The purpose of this blog is to hold myself accountable to my goals. I have undergone several serious changes in the last couple years, but am nowhere near finished transforming into my ideal self. Join me on my journey of self-improvement and together we can take steps towards the people we aspire to be.

Leave a Reply

